Melbourne & Australian Architecture Topics

A place to talk about Australian Architecture, Heritage & Planning Issues
It is currently 19 Aug 2017, 01:38

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]

Forum rules

Please click here to view the forum rules

Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 42 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next
PostPosted: 16 Jan 2011, 23:30 

Hello,

I am currently conducting an in depth research study into a house owned by my parents in Mowbray, Launceston, Tasmana named 'Vermont Homestead' situated once on the farm of 'Vermont'.

My research is going well besides one thing: the date the house was built. I have been told it was built in numerous decades from 1845 right through to 1890, which still keeps it in the Victorian date range.

From my research, my personal guess would about around 1850 - 1855, but I am no real expert.

It has such features as 12ft high ceilings but with no cornices, grained wooden skirting boards, door frames, doors etc, double fronted (now enclosed) with wrap around verandah with iron lace work and supporting colums, arched windows on each front and an arched front door way.

Attached is a picture, if you need any more just ask and I will attach some more.

If you could help me out it would be greatly appreciated.
Best regards,

PostPosted: 17 Jan 2011, 10:43 
Jedi Master
Jedi Master

The shape and style of the house, and the use of cast iron lace on the verandah, assuming both are original, strongly suggests a building constructed in the 1870s or 1880s.

PostPosted: 17 Jan 2011, 19:28 

Hello,

thanks for the info.

I have a primary source record written by a nearby farmer whom, in a certain instance, walked from his property to 'Vermont'. He states this in a piece of writing in 1886, but this certain visit was back in the mid 1860's. He writes that he walked to the house "now owned by Mr. William Luck", which is, 'Vermont Homestead'.