Melbourne & Australian Architecture Topics

A place to talk about Australian Architecture, Heritage & Planning Issues
It is currently 25 Jun 2018, 11:42

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: 28 Dec 2009, 16:26 

Can anybody please help me. I'm trying to recall an old building (mansion) that was around Tennyson st, St.Kilda around the late 70's and early 80's when I lived in that area (I was a student at Elwood High School). I think I may have seen it on a documentary recently, and the reason I'm trying to find out about it is because I remember as a youngster how intimidating I would find it. I believe it was occupied by squatters etc. however, my memory could be incorrect. I've done some internet searching and am starting to become so obsessed, I might have to get in the car and drive to Melbourne! Any help would be greatly appreciated - Regards

PostPosted: 28 Dec 2009, 17:00 

Depending on which part of Tennyson Street you are thinking of, and ruling out those houses that had already been demolished by the late '70s, Sherwood Hall in Hennessy Avenue might qualify, although it seems to have been well-maintained and in constant legitimate use (as opposed to squatted) throughout recent decades.

A Google search of "Sherwood Hall Elwood" throws up a load of relevant links, most with photos to jog your memory, including the useful earlier post on this very site "J.T.Collins & I Tour St Kilda" (which also includes photos of other mansions in the general area).

PostPosted: 29 Dec 2009, 10:23